Site Browser - Documentation topics on: Site Browser,.

Site Browser

The Site Browser is one of the most useful portlets for a typical web content contributor.  From the Site Browser users can easily locate/create folders, Pages, Menu Links, Containers, and Templates.  Files can also be uploaded to any folder in the "Sites and Folders" directory tree.  For ease of navigation, the Site Browser has been divided into two basic viewing areas: The "Sites and Folders" area which shows a Site's folder directory and a "Detail Area" that displays the content of any selected folder.

From either the "Sites and Folders" or the Folder detail area, right-clicking on an folder will display the following options:

  • Edit Folder - change the name/properties/permissions of a folder
  • Delete - deletes the folder and ALL of it's contents
  • Publish (all) - publishes all Pages and files that are currently unpublished in the selected directory and all it's subfolders
  • Push Publish - adds the folder or object to the push publishing queue (requires an Enterprise license and Push Publishing configuration)
  • Add To Bundle - adds the folder or asset to a Bundle for push publishing
  • Copy - creates a duplicate copy of the folder, subfolders, Pages and files that can then be pasted into another directory or the root folder of a host.
  • Cut - allows the folder to be transferred or "pasted" into another folder.  If the paste option is not chosen, the original folder and it's contents will remain in their current folder
  • New - select this option to create a new folder, Page, upload an image or file, upload multiple files, or create a Menu Link inside the selected folder

From either the "Sites and Folders" or the Folder detail area, a right-click on an Page will display the following options:

  • Open (Preview) - opens the Page in Edit Mode
  • Page Properties - allows editing of the Page properties: title, URL, template,  permissions, etc.
  • View Statistics - displays statistical data concerning front end user traffic to the HMTL page selected
  • Publish/Republish - forces modifications to display on the  "live" front-end Page
  • Push Publish - adds the folder or object to the push publishing queue (requires an Enterprise license and Push Publishing configuration)
  • Add To Bundle - adds the page to a Bundle for push publishing
  • Publish - publishes a saved or draft copy of a Page or asset
  • Unpublish - forces the Page into a draft state in which the Page will be no longer visible from the live site
  • Unlock - unlocks a previously locked page or asset
  • Archive - removes the Page from the website browser to be picked up for final deletion by administrative cleanup tasks
  • Copy - copies the Page and its properties so that a duplicate can be pasted in another folder or the root folder of a host. (does not make a copy of content linked to Page)
  • Cut - allows the Page to be transferred or "pasted" into another folder.  If the paste option is not chosen, the Page and will remain in the current folder

Viewing Language Versions from the Site Browser

dotCMS Pages and all Content Types can be created in multiple language versions.  To view different Sites or Folder directory assets by language version, click the language drop down menu to the right of "Sites and Folders" at the top of the Site Browser

The image above displays a "training" directories Pages that have been created in English.  To view the Spanish pages in the same directory, the language version selector on the Site Browser has been switched to Spanish.

All different language versions of a Site Pages and content can be managed from the Site Browser. To learn more about multi-lingual content, see our documentation on multi-lingual site management.

Show Archived

The "Show Archived" button at the bottom right-hand corner of the Site Browser detail area can be toggled on and off to view archived files and/or Pages.  If a file, Page or folder is accidentally archived, clicking on show archived will reveal them so they can be unarchived.  dotCMS recommends that System Administrators routinely remove older archived objects from a dotCMS on a routine basis.  Ways to automate these cleanup tasks are covered in the Backend Maintenance Tasks documentation for dotCMS System Administrators.