Content Types - Documentation topics on: content types,.

Content Types

There are 5 BASE Types that all custom Content Types must inherit from:

  • Content
  • File
  • Form
  • Page
  • Widget

Each of these Base Types serve to format and organize information as it is created and saved within dotCMS. CMS Administrators can specify which types of content will be allowed different areas on a page. Each Base Type may require different system fields for a successful contribution of content of that Content Type.  Each of these Base Types break up information into various system and/or custom fields - Title, Subtitle, Description, Body, etc. Webmasters also have control over which fields will display (or not), when a type of content is associated with a container and placed on a Page.

For more information, see the Base Types documentation.