Push Publishing Content - Documentation topics on: push publishing,.

Push Publishing Content

The Push Publishing feature allows you to Remotely Publish multiple types of content from one server to another server. You can use the same simple process and interface to Publish Content, Hosts and Folders, Dynamic plugins, Users and Content Types.

Pushing Content

To add Content to the Publishing Queue (Content that is scheduled to be Published), right-click on the content and select Push Publish from the menu.

Depending on the screen you access, your Workflows, and the type of Content you want to Push Publish, it may be possible to select multiple content items for publishing at the same time, by selecting the checkboxes for multiple items and then pressing the Push Publish button on the bottom of the screen:

Note: The Push Publish option is only available when there is at least one Receiving server defined in the Push Publishing Configuration Manager.

After selecting Push Publish, a popup displays with the following options:

I want toWhat you want to do with the selected content:
  • Publish: Schedule the Content to be Published on the selected Publish date.
  • Delete: Schedule to remove the Content on the selected Expire date.
  • Publish & Delete: Schedule to publish the Content on the selected Publish date and then to remove the content on the selected Expire date.
Publish DateThe date on which the Content will be published.
Defaults to now (publish immediately).
Only applies if Publish or Publish and Delete are selected (see above).
Expire DateThe date on which the Content will be unpublished.
Defaults to now (publish immediately).
Only applies if Delete or Publish and Delete are selected (see above).
Force PushForce the Content to be Pushed, even if it does not appear to have changed since the last push.
Push toA list of the Publishing Environments the Content will be Pushed to.

Push to Delete

Whenever you select Delete or Publish & Delete in the push publishing popup window, you schedule dotCMS to perform a Push to Delete on the specified Expire Date. At the specified date and time, dotCMS will unpublish and delete the pushed content from the receiving server.

Note that when you Push to Delete, it does not mean that the selected content will be reverted to an older version; instead this means that on the specified date and time, the content included in the push will no longer exist on the receiving server at all.

Force Push Option

By default, dotCMS automatically remembers when Content was last pushed to each Environment (based on the Content modification date), and only actually pushes the content to an Environment if the Content has changed since the last Push. This prevents redundant Content pushes and allows you to push content without worrying about causing unnecessary network traffic, even if you don't know whether the content has actually changed.

The Force Push option disregards the modification date, pushing the Content regardless of whether or not it has changed since the last Push.


  • This option can be useful to ensure that all documents are synchronized between two servers.
    • However it should be used sparingly, especially on large sites, as it can cause a significant increase in network traffic.
    • Whenever possible, do not use this option as your default behavior (e.g. in Workflows).

Content Dependencies: Tags and Related Content

Whenever Content is pushed, all new Tags and Related Content are also pushed.

Each Tag on the Content is compared to existing Tags on the receiving server; if the Tag already exists on the receiver it is associated with the pushed Content, otherwise the Tag is created on the receiving server and then associated with the pushed Content.

Similarly, all related content is checked, and if necessary created on the receiving server before being related to the pushed Content.

Managing Push Publishing

The following sections provide an overview of managing push publishing of Content. For more information, please see the Push Publishing documentation.

The Publishing Queue

When you Push Publish Content, it is added to the Publishing Queue. You may view the Publishing Queue to see what Content is scheduled to be pushed (including items which were scheduled to be pushed immediately, but have not yet been sent).

Content Push History

To view the push history of a Content item, edit the Content, select the History tab, and scroll to the bottom of the screen.

To remove the push history for the Content, click the Delete Push History in the Push History section of the History tab.

System Push History

To see a history of all Bundles which have been pushed on the system, open the Publishing Status screen (Select Site Browser -> Publishing Queue and select the Status/History tab).

To delete the push history of all Content on the entire system, select System -> Maintenance and click the Tools tab. The Delete Pushed Assets History tool removes all pushed assets from the history table; this both cleans up old push history and ensures that all asset dependencies will be included in every push, regardless of when Content was last pushed to the receiving server.