Site Browser - Documentation topics on: Website Browser,.

Site Browser


The Site Browser is one of the most useful portlets for a typical web content contributor.  From the Site Browser users can easily locate/create folders, HTML Pages, Menu Links, Containers, and Templates.  Files can also be uploaded to any folder in the "Sites and Folders" directory tree.  For ease of navigation, the Site Browser has been divided into two basic viewing areas: The "Sites and Folders" area which shows a Host's folder directory and a "Detail Area" that displays the content of any selected folder.

Right Click on Folder

From either the "Sites and Folders" or the Folder detail area, right-clicking on an folder will display the following options:

  • Edit Folder - change the name/properties/permissions of a folder
  • Delete - deletes the folder and ALL of it's contents
  • Publish (all) - publishes all HTML pages and files that are currently unpublished in the selected directory and all it's subfolders
  • Copy - creates a duplicate copy of the folder, subfolders, HTML pages and files that can then be pasted into another directory or the root folder of a host.
  • Cut - allows the folder to be transferred or "pasted" into another folder.  If the paste option is not chosen, the original folder and it's contents will remain in their current folder
  • New - select this option to create a new folder, HTML page, upload an image or file, upload multiple files, or create a Menu Link inside the selected folder

From either the "Sites and Folders" or the Folder detail area, a right-click on an HTML page will display the following options:

  • Open (Preview) - opens the HTML page in Edit Mode
  • Page Properties - allows editing of the html page properties: title, URL, template,  permissions, etc.
  • View Statistics - displays statistical data concerning front end user traffic to the HMTL page selected
  • Publish/Republish - forces modifications to display on the  "live" front-end HTML page
  • Unpublish - forces the HTML page into a draft state in which the HTML page will be no longer visible from the live site
  • Archive - removes the HTML page from the website browser to be picked up for final deletion by administrative cleanup tasks
  • Copy - copies the HTML page and its properties so that a duplicate can be pasted in another folder or the root folder of a host. (does not make a copy of content linked to HTML page)
  • Cut - allows the html page to be transferred or "pasted" into another folder.  If the paste option is not chosen, the HTML page and will remain in the current folder
Show Archived

The "Show Archived" button at the bottom right-hand corner of the Site Browser detail area can be toggled on and off to view archived files and/or HTML pages.  If a file, HTML page or folder is accidentally archived, clicking on show archived will reveal them so they can be unarchived.  dotCMS recommends that System Administrators routinely remove older archived objects from a dotCMS on a routine basis.  Ways to automate these cleanup tasks are covered in the Backend Maintenance Tasks documentation for dotCMS System Administrators.